* Login   * Register Feedback Feedback    * FAQ    * Medals   * Search
It is currently Sun Jul 23, 2017 1:41 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour

PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 8:43 pm 
Really getting into this place

Hi All

My name is Westley Price. I have been stalking Bugnation (well the Phasmid section at least) for a while now. I am an Exploration Geologist from South Africa, living in Namibia. I have been an amateur herpetologist for the past 15 years, and keeping exotic snakes for the past 10, with my focus being Asian non-venomous colubrids, but field herping and photography has always been my passion.

I recently moved to Namibia and with the local legislation, I have had to part with my snakes and stick to field herping (which of course I am loving) but there has been a gap in my household since parting with my captives. I decided to investigate an alternative to fill the gap.

I have never had a real interest in Tarantulas and the rest of the invert hobby is quite underdeveloped here in Africa so our options are limited. I am a moderator on a local reptiles forum and I noticed a local guy selling Extatosoma tiaratum which sent me down a rabbit hole, investigating all Phasmids.

I contacted one of the South African breeders specializing in Phasmids and got a price list from him. After doing research on all the species he had on offer, I decided on a group I would be most capable of looking after (hopefully). Being that the shipping from the breeder to me is roughly 1500km, I decided to order ova rather than nymphs to prevent any deaths or injury. So I am currently incubating a nice group of ova from a few different species.